Church Organization

The Pentarchy

- 1. Rome
- 2. Constantinople (4th Ecumenical Council)
- 3. Alexandria
- 4. Antioch
- 5. Jerusalem

The Orthodox Churches Today

AUTOCEPHALOUS CHURCHES

- Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople (see below)*
- Patriarchate of Alexandria
- Patriarchate of Antioch*
- Patriarchate of Jerusalem
- Patriarchate of Moscow*
- Patriarchate of Serbia*
- Patriarchate of Romania*
- Patriarchate of Bulgaria*
- Patriarchate of Georgia*
- Church of Cyprus
- Church of Greece
- Church of Poland
- Church of Albania
- Church of the Czech Lands and Slovakia
- Orthodox Church in America (OCA)* (autocephaly recognized by Moscow, Bulgaria, Georgia, Poland, and the Czech Lands and Slovakia)
- Orthodox Church of Ukraine (autocephaly recognized by Constantinople, Alexandria, Cyprus and Greece)

(It should be noted that in the diptychs of the Moscow Patriarchate and some of its daughter churches—e.g. the OCA—the ranking of four of the patriarchal churches is different. Following Moscow in rank is Georgia, then Serbia, Romania, and Bulgaria. The remainder of the rankings beginning with Cyprus is the same.)

AUTONOMOUS CHURCHES

- Church of Sinai
- Church of Finland
- Church of Estonia (autonomy recognized by Constantinople but not Moscow)
- Church of Japan (autonomy recognized by Moscow but not Constantinople)
- Church of China (virtually non-existent, autonomy recognized by Moscow but not Constantinople)
- Ukrainian Orthodox Church (autonomy recognized by Moscow but not Constantinople)
- Archdiocese of Ohrid

^{*} notes "jurisdictions" present in America (the largest are the GOA, the Antiochian, and OCA)

The Structure of Our Church

A. The Church of Constantinople (The Ecumenical Patriarchate; Phanar) (headed up by His All Holiness Bartholomew, Archbishop of Constantinople and Ecumenical Patriarch; governed by the Holy Synod of Constantinople)

B. The Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America (GOA) (Archbishop Elpidophoros; 540 parishes, 800 priests and approximately 1.5 million faithful, governed by the Archdiocesan Synod and Archdiocesan Council)

C. The Metropolises

Direct Archdiocesan District (Archbishop Elpidophoros)

Metropolis of Atlanta

Metropolis of Boston

<u>Metropolis of Chicago</u> (Metropolitan Nathanael, 58 parish and 2 monasteries in 6 states, governed by the Metropolis Council)

D. Twelve Holy Apostles (Fr. Dustin, governed by Parish Assembly and Parish Council)

Metropolis of Denver

Metropolis of Detroit

Metropolis of New Jersey

Metropolis of Pittsburg

Metropolis of San Francisco